Lefferts Historic House
Lefferts Historic House is an 18th-century Flatbush farmhouse and New York City landmark, jointly operated by Prospect Park Alliance and the Historic House Trust. The farmhouse was originally located just blocks from the park (563 Flatbush Avenue near Maple Street) and moved in 1917 to its current site, and features period rooms, indoor and outdoor exhibits, historic artifacts, reproductions and working farm plots. Through hands-on experiences, cultural performances, and imaginative play, visitors learn about the rich history of Brooklyn and also gather together to celebrate the diversity of our community today.
The Alliance is currently restoring the museum through $2.5 million in funding from the Brooklyn Delegation of the New York City Council to make vital capital upgrades essential to maintaining this historic structure, which is more than 200 years old. While the museum is closed for restoration, the Alliance has launched ReImagine Lefferts to re-envision the mission and programming of the museum to recognize its role as a site of slavery, and tell the stories—in innovative, inclusive and forward-thinking ways—of the enslaved Africans and the Indigenous people of the Lenapehoking who lived and worked the land. As the Alliance reimagines the mission of the museum, we seek to engage the public in a thoughtful dialogue about the legacy of slavery and the treatment of marginalized communities who have contributed to the rich tapestry of Brooklyn.
Whle Lefferts Historic House is closed for restoration, enjoy your favorite Lefferts activities from home.